clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Open World Cup Watch Thread: Day 4

New, comments

Come not watch Italy play today!

Russia v Brazil - International Friendly Photo by Oleg Nikishin/Getty Images

Seven out of the 11 Juventus players at the World Cup have seen their respective countries play the first of their three group stage games in Russia over the last three days.

Today, two more Juve reps will see their countries take the field.

And it just so happens that those countries are two of the favorites to win the whole damn thing this summer.

As much as we might wish that there’s a Juve player being represented in the Serbia-Costa Rica game — HEY, SERGEJ, CALL US ONE TIME, OKAY? — it’s the latter two fixtures that will have a bit of bianconero flavor to them.

Brother Sami and Germany open up their title defense against Mexico in the second of Sunday’s three-game schedule. That is followed up by another game with a Juve representation, as Douglas Costa — who is now 100 percent Juventus! — will likely start on the bench when Brazil faces Switzerland in Sunday’s nightcap.

And don’t you forget that Switzerland just so happens to be captained by a former Juventus right back that loves to scream at refs and opposing players.

So, it might not be a day where you will spend close to 10 hours watching World Cup games, but it’s close enough.

After today, we’ll be more than halfway through the first round of group stage games. I don’t know about you guys, but watching games with no Italy playing just seems to be a lot less stressful than, say, four years ago. Funny how that works, huh?

TODAY’S SCHEDULE

Group E — Costa Rica vs. Serbia: 8 a.m. Eastern Time, 5 a.m. Pacific (NBC stream link)

Group F — Germany vs. Mexico: 11 a.m. Eastern Time, 8 a.m. Pacific (NBC stream link)

Group E — Brazil vs. Switzerland: 2 p.m. Eastern Time, 11 a.m. Pacific (NBC stream link)

HOW TO WATCH

Television: Fox Sports 1 for Germany-Mexico and Brazil-Switzerland; FOX for Serbia-Costa Rica (United States); TSN4, TSN5 (Canada); UTV, STV Scotland, ITV1 UK (United Kingdom)

Online/mobile: See links above (United States); TSN GO, RDS GO (Canada); The ITV Hub (United Kingdom)

Note: This post will be updated daily as the main World Cup viewing and off-topic thread here at BWRAO. So, if you see comments from a previous day or a game that you already know took place, fret not. Keep the discussion going ... and going ... and going. Rack up those comments into the hundreds and thousands!

Stay tuned to BWRAO for posts regarding Juventus’ representation in Russia as well as any transfer-related happenings that take place before, during or after the day’s schedule comes and goes.