clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Buffon, Mandzukic and Allegri all up for FIFA awards

FIFA announced the final nominees for seven different awards categories

Juventus v Real Madrid - UEFA Champions League Final
Mario Mandzukic with a spectacular goal in the game that we will not mention
Photo by Laurence Griffiths/Getty Images

The governing body for football FIFA today announced the final nominees for The Best FIFA Football Awards™ at an event in London. Three Juventus players are among those shortlisted for the awards which will be presented also in London on October 23rd.

Club captain and goalkeeping legend Gianluigi Buffon has been nominated in the Best Goalkeeper of 2017 category, along with Real Madrid’s Keylor Navas and Manuel Neuer from Bayern Munich.

Forward Mario Mandžukić is in the reckoning for the Puskas Award for best goal of the year, for his effort at that last game of the season - enough said.

Finally, manager Massimiliano Allegri is in the reckoning for the Coach of the Year award, after leading Juve to their third consecutive domestic double, and sixth Scudetto title in six years, the last three of which came during his tenure. He is being challenged by the man that won the previous three of those Serie A championships Antonio Conte, and a former Juventus player Zinedine Zidane.

The other four Awards that will be handed out are for Player of the Year, Women’s Player of the Year, Women’s Coach of the Year and the Fans of the Year, with Borussia Dortmund, Celtic and FC Copenhagen in the running for the last title.