clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Juventus’ Massimiliano Allegri named to 2017 Best FIFA Men’s Coach award shortlist

Allegri is one of five managers on the 12-candidate list to have won their respective league title last season.

SS Lazio v Juventus FC - TIM Cup Final Photo by Paolo Bruno/Getty Images

JuventusMassimiliano Allegri is among 12 managers up for this year’s Best FIFA Men’s Coach award. FIFA announced the candidates for the award Thursday.

A combination of votes from national team captains and coaches, media and the public will determine the winner.

Allegri guided Juventus to its third consecutive domestic double by winning Serie A and the Coppa Italia. The Old Lady also reached the Champions League final for the second time in three years only to be defeated by former Juventus star Zinedine Zidane’s Real Madrid. In all, Allegri has won seven trophies since being hired as Juve’s manager in July 2014.

Along with Allegri and Zidane, Bayern Munich’s Carlo Ancelotti, Chelsea’s Antonio Conte and AS Monaco’s Leonardo Jardim are nominees who won their respective league titles last season.

Claudio Ranieri, who managed Juve from 2007-09, won the award last year after guiding Leicester City to the Premier League title.

Here's the full 12-man shortlist:

  • Massimiliano Allegri (Juventus)
  • Carlo Ancelotti (Bayern Munich)
  • Antonio Conte (Chelsea)
  • Luis Enrique (Barcelona)
  • Pep Guardiola (Manchester City)
  • Leonardo Jardim (AS Monaco)
  • Joachim Low (Germany)
  • Jose Mourinho (Manchester United)
  • Mauricio Pochettino (Tottenham)
  • Diego Simeone (Atletico Madrid)
  • Tite (Brazil)
  • Zinedine Zidane (Real Madrid)