clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Juventus’ Gianluigi Buffon, Paulo Dybala among shortlist for 2017 Best FIFA Men’s Player award

Former Juventus defender Leonardo Bonucci is also among the 24 finalist.

Tottenham Hotspur v Juventus - Pre-Season Friendly Photo by Stephen Pond/Getty Images

Juventus goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon and forward Paulo Dybala were among 24 players named to the Best FIFA Men’s Player award shortlist Thursday. Former Juventus defender Leonardo Bonucci, who signed a five-year €42 million contract with AC Milan in July, also made the list.

The award, which covers play from Nov. 20, 2016, to July 2, 2017, is voted for by national team coaches, captains, selected media and fans and will be awarded Oct. 23 in London at the Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony in London.

Buffon posted 22 clean sheets last season, including nine during the Champions League. His stellar work in net helped Juventus reach the Champions League final for the second time in three years. Domestically, Buffon had 13 shutouts in 30 games as Juventus completed a double with Serie A and Coppa Italia titles for the third consecutive season.

Dybala scored 19 goals in 48 appearances last season. He had four goals in 11 matches in Champions League.

It is the second year of the award. The inaugural Best FIFA Football Awards show was last year in Zurich, Switzerland with Real Madrid’s Cristiano Ronaldo winning the men’s award and the Houston Dash’s Carli Lloyd claiming the women’s award.

Full list of Best FIFA Men's Player nominations:

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund, Gabon)
Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus/AC Milan, Italy)
Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus, Italy)
Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid, Spain)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid, Portugal)
Paulo Dybala (Juventus, Argentina)
Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid, France)
Eden Hazard (Chelsea, Belgium)
Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Manchester United)
Andres Iniesta (Barcelona, Spain)
Harry Kane, (Tottenham, England)
N'Golo Kante (Chelsea, France)
Toni Kroos (Real Madrid, Germany)
Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich, Poland)
Marcelo (Real Madrid, Brazil)
Lionel Messi (Barcelona, Argentina)
Luka Modric (Real Madrid, Croatia)
Keylor Navas (Real Madrid, Costa Rica)
Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich, Germany)
Neymar (Barcelona/Paris Saint-Germain, Brazil)
Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid, Spain)
Alexis Sanchez (Arsenal, Chile)
Luis Suarez (Barcelona, Uruguay)
Arturo Vidal (Bayern Munich, Chile)