clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Juventus’ Gianluigi Buffon, Paulo Dybala on 30-man shortlist for 2017 Ballon d’Or

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have been the only two players to win the award since 2008.

Juventus v ACF Fiorentina - Serie A Photo by Gabriele Maltinti/Getty Images

Juventus forward Paulo Dybala and goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon were named one of 30 players to the Ballon d’Or shortlist Monday.

Dybala scored 19 goals across all competitions last season as Juventus completed a domestic double and finished as runner-up in the Champions League. The 23-year-old is off to an incredible start this season with 12 goals, including seven in Serie A.

Buffon, who will turn 40 in January, had 21 clean sheets (13 in Serie A, eight in Champions League) last season en route to be named the Best European Goalkeeper. He has three clean sheets this season.

Former Juventus defender Leonardo Bonucci, who is now with AC Milan, also made the list.

La Liga leads the list with 11 nominations, while the Premier League has seven players, Serie A provides five, Ligue 1 has four and the Bundesliga has three. Real Madrid are the most represented club with seven players, including Cristiano Ronaldo remains the favorite to claim the prize for a record-equalling fifth time following a double-winning campaign.

Barcelona star Lionel Messi and Ronaldo are the only players to have won the award since 2008. AC Milan’s Kaka is the last player not named Messi and Ronaldo to win the award.

Three Juventus players have won the award, including Roberto Baggio (1993), Zinedine Zidane (1998) and Pavel Nedved (2003).

Here are the 30 nominees:

Neymar (PSG), Luka Modric (Real Madrid), Paulo Dybala (Juventus), Marcelo (Real Madrid), N'Golo Kante (Chelsea), Luis Suarez (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool), Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid), Dries Mertens (Napoli), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Harry Kane (Tottenham), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich), David De Gea (Manchester United), Edin Dzeko(Roma), Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus), Sadio Mane (Liverpool), Radamel Falcao (AS Monaco), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund), Edinson Cavani (Paris Saint-Germain), Mats Hummels (Bayern Munich), Karim Benzema (Real Madrid), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Leonardo Bonucci (AC Milan), Isco (Real Madrid), Kylian Mbappe (AS Monaco).