clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Euro 2016: Seven Juventus players named to Italy's 30-man provisional roster

New, comments

Andrea Pirlo is among the notable exclusions from manager Antonie Conte's squad.

Claudio Villa/Getty Images

Seven Juventus players were named to Italy's 30-man provisional roster for Euro 2016 on Monday: Andrea Barzagli, Leonardo Bonucci, Gianluigi Buffon, Giorgio Chiellini, Daniele Rugani, Stefano Sturaro and Simone Zaza.

Veteran midfielder Andrea Pirlo and Genoa striker Leonardo Pavoletti, who was the highest scoring Italian in Serie A this season, were notable exclusions from manager Antonio Conte's list. Pirlo has no goals and two assists in 11 matches for New York City FC in MLS. The 37-year-old has nine goals in 77 matches for Italy in his career.

Conte wil trim down the roster to 23 players by the time the Azzurri begin its European Championship run June 13 against Belgium at Parc Olympique Lyonnais in Lyon. The Azzurri also play Sweden and Ireland on June 17 and 22, respectively, in Group E play.

Italy has made the tournament final in two out of the last four tournaments, falling to France in 2000 and Spain in 2012.

Italy's 30-man provisional roster

Goalkeepers: Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus), Federico Marchetti (Lazio), Salvatore Sirigu (Paris Saint-Germain)

Defenders: Mattia De Sciglio (AC Milan), Matteo Darmian (Manchester United), Davide Astori (Fiorentina), Andrea Barzagli (Juventus), Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus), Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus), Angelo Obinze Ogbonna (West Ham), and Daniele Rugani (Juventus)

Midfielders: Marco Benassi (Torino), Giacomo Bonaventura (Milan), Daniele De Rossi (Roma), Alessandro Florenzi (Roma), Emanuele Giaccherini (Bologna), Jorge Luiz Jorginho (Napoli), Riccardo Montolivo (AC Milan), Thiago Motta (PSG), Marco Parolo (Lazio), Stefano Sturaro (Juventus), Federico Bernardeschi (Fiorentina), Davide Zappacosta (Torino)

Forwards: Antonio Candreva (Lazio), Citadin Martins Eder (Inter), Stephan El Shaarawy (Rome), Ciro Immobile (Torino), Lorenzo Insigne (Napoli), Graziano Pelle (Southampton) and Simone Zaza (Juventus)