clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Juventus' Stephan Lichtsteiner named Switzerland's new captain

The 32-year-old will wear the captain's armband for the Swiss at Euro 2016.

Matthew Lewis/Getty Images

Stephan Lichtsteiner is the new captain for Switzerland's men's national team, the federation announced with its 28-man provisional roster for Euro 2016.

Lichtsteiner has five goals in 80 caps for the Swiss, but he hasn't scored since June 2014 in a friendly against Peru.

Switzerland, who finished second in qualifying Group E behind England, will face host France, Romania and Albania in Group A in this summer's tournament. The Swiss have warm-up matches against Belgium on May 28 in Geneva and Moldova on June 3 in Lugano.

Swiss coach Vladimir Petkovic opted to leave off former captain Gokhan Inler, who made five appearances for Premier League champion Leicester City. He has 89 caps and captained the Swiss at the 2014 World Cup.

Provisional Switzerland squad for Euro 2016

Goalkeepers: Roman Bürki (Borussia Dortmund), Marwin Hitz (Augsburg), Yvon Mvogo (Young Boys), Yann Sommer (Borussia Mönchengladbach).

Defenders: Johan Djourou (Hamburg), Nico Elvedi (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Michael Lang (Basel), Stephan Lichtsteiner (Juventus), François Moubandje (Toulouse), Ricardo Rodríguez (Wolfsburg), Fabian Schär (Hoffenheim), Philippe Senderos (Grasshoppers), Steve Von Bergen (Young Boys), Silvan Widmer (Udinese).

Midfielders: Valon Behrami (Watford), Blerim Džemaili (Genoa), Gelson Fernandes (Rennes), Fabian Frei (Mainz), Renato Steffen (Basel), Granit Xhaka (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Denis Zakaria (Young Boys), Luca Zuffi (Basel).

Forwards: Eren Derdiyok (Kasımpaşa), Breel Embolo (Basel), Admir Mehmedi (Bayer Leverkusen), Haris Seferović (Eintracht Frankfurt), Xherdan Shaqiri (Stoke City), Shani Tarashaj (Grasshoppers).