clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Three Juventus players nominated for FIFA FIFPro World XI

Probably talking about how awesome they are, I'll say.
Probably talking about how awesome they are, I'll say.
Gabriele Maltinti/Getty Images

Just a few days after seeing plenty of familiar faces nominated to be a part of the UEFA Team of the Year, the same can be said when it comes to FIFA's annual squad of the best of the best.

Goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon, midfielder Paul Pogba and defender Giorgio Chiellini are Juventus' three representatives on the 55-player shortlist. Throw in the fact that Arturo Vidal, Andrea Pirlo and Carlos Tévez are also nominated for the the FIFPro Team of the Year, and you have over half of Juventus' starting lineup from last season included. And while it might not be like Bayern Munich who can field an entire lineup with all of their nominations, it's still a nice haul for a team that had so many changes four or five months ago.

After all, there was a still core group of players that didn't head out this past summer. Let's not forget that.

Buffon, ironically not included in FIFA's shortlist for the Ballon d'Or, is no surprise. Same goes for Pogba, who is obviously now a household name amongst footballing fans around Europe and the globe. Chiellini, even struggling with his form throughout the last season or so, is in the same kind of boat. One might have thought that if there's Chiellini, then there's going to be Leonardo Bonucci, but apparently one of the best defenders in all of Europe last season be recognized for his efforts is too hard for FIFA to figure out all by themselves.

The final XI will be revealed at the Ballon d'Or announcement on Jan, 11, 2016 in Zurich.

The 55-man FIFPro Shortlist:


Gianluigi Buffon (Italy, Juventus); Iker Casillas (Spain, FC Porto); David De Gea (Spain, Manchester United); Keylor Navas (Costa Rica, Real Madrid CF); Manuel Neuer (Germany, FC Bayern Munich)


David Alaba (Austria, FC Bayern Munich); Jordi Alba (Spain, FC Barcelona); Daniel Alves (Brazil, FC Barcelona); Jérôme Boateng (Germany, FC Bayern Munich); Daniel Carvajal (Spain, Real Madrid CF); Giorgio Chiellini (Italy, Juventus); David Luiz (Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain); Diego Godín (Uruguay, Atlético Madrid); Mats Hummels (Germany, Borussia Dortmund); Branislav Ivanovic (Serbia, Chelsea); Vincent Kompany (Belgium, Manchester City); Philipp Lahm (Germany, FC Bayern Munich); Marcelo (Brazil, Real Madrid CF); Javier Mascherano (Argentina, FC Barcelona); Pepe (Portugal, Real Madrid CF); Gerard Piqué (Spain, FC Barcelona); Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid CF); Thiago Silva (Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain); John Terry (England, Chelsea); Raphaël Varane (France, Real Madrid CF)


Thiago Alcantara (Spain, FC Bayern Munich); Xabi Alonso (Spain, FC Bayern Munich); Sergio Busquets (Spain, FC Barcelona); Eden Hazard (Belgium, Chelsea FC); Andrés Iniesta (Spain, FC Barcelona); Toni Kroos (Germany, Real Madrid CF); Luka Modric (Croatia, Real Madrid CF); Andrea Pirlo (Italy, New York City FC); Paul Pogba (France, Juventus); Ivan Rakitic (Croatia, FC Barcelona); James Rodríguez (Colombia, Real Madrid CF); David Silva (Spain, Manchester City); Yaya Touré (Ivory Coast, Manchester City FC); Marco Verratti (Italy, Paris Saint-Germain); Arturo Vidal (Chile, FC Bayern Munich)


Sergio Agüero (Argentina, Manchester City FC); Gareth Bale (Wales, Real Madrid CF); Karim Benzema (France, Real Madrid CF); Douglas Costa (Brazil, FC Bayern Munich); Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden, Paris Saint-Germain FC); Robert Lewandowski (Poland, FC Bayern Munich); Lionel Messi (Argentina, FC Barcelona); Thomas Müller (Germany, FC Bayern Munich); Neymar Jr. (Brazil, FC Barcelona); Arjen Robben (The Netherlands, FC Bayern Munich); Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid CF); Wayne Rooney (England, Manchester United FC); Alexis Sánchez (Chile, Arsenal); Luis Suárez (Uruguay, FC Barcelona); Carlos Tevez (Argentina, Boca Juniors)